Illinois Tourism & Travel

Crazy About Travel

US Advises Against Travel to Germany & Denmark

Even though the US has opened its borders for international arrivals, the US Department of State has advised that all its citizens refrain from travelling to another two European Union Member States since their epidemiological situation has worsened.

Updating the list of countries to which the US citizens are highly advised to avoid travelling, the Department of State has issued a ‘Level Four: Do Not Travel’ advice for Germany and Denmark.

“The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 4 Travel Health Notice for Denmark due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. There are restrictions in place affecting US citizen entry into Denmark,” the travel advice issued for Denmark reads. The same advice was also issued for Germany.

The travel advisories for the two countries were issued yesterday, November 22, as Germany and Denmark reported increased infection rates.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), Germany has reported 340,509 infection cases, and Denmark has reported 26,769 infection cases during the last seven days, reports.

The ‘Level Four: Do Not Travel’ is the highest advisory level. This means that all Americans, especially those who haven’t recovered or been vaccinated against the virus, have a higher risk of getting infected when travelling to countries against which a travel advisory currently applies.

Therefore, in order to lower the risk of getting infected, the US Centers for Disease Prevention and Control has suggested that all those who must travel to one of the countries that have a travel advice are fully immunised with one of the jabs authorised by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Except for Germany and Denmark that have just recently been added to the list, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland also have a Do Not Travel advice at the moment.

The travel advice suggests that everyone should not take any non-essential trips to one of the above-mentioned countries.

The US has removed its entry ban for 26 Schengen Area countries as well as for the UK, South Africa, Ireland, Brazil, China, and India on November 8. Since then, international travellers have been able to travel to the US provided that they met all the vaccination and other entry rules.

The US authorities currently recognise for travel all vaccines approved by FDA and WHO.

>> Protests Erupt Across Europe Against COVID-19 Passports & Further Restrictions